Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Brad and I had a quick little get away this weekend to Conneaut Lake.  If you’re in the Pittsburgh area and you’re a vintage junkie (puns lol) but have never been to Conneaut, you have no idea what you’re missing out on!  The entire area surrounding Conneaut Lake is laden with consignment shops, flea markets and antique stores.

This morning, we woke up earlier and found ourselves in Andover, OH with my parents for the Andover/Pymatuning Drive In/Flea Market which is a huge flea market just across the PA/OH boarder in Ashtabula County, OH.  You can literally find anything your heart desires at that flea market.

After we left the flea market, we decided to go about 3 miles down the road to PLUM CRAZY, an antique warehouse in Williamsfield, OH.  Here, we found a ton of fantastic ideas for a vintage style wedding!  We’re talking great glass bottles, old picture frames, hand stitched linens and vintage gloves, and my personal favorite: hand operated egg beaters for $10!!  I didn’t pick any up this afternoon but they’re definitely on my radar for a later purchase.

The 4 of us made our way back to Conneaut Lake and to the LAKE BAZAAR which is a consignment shop in downtown Conneaut.  This place was a mecca for vintage glassware.  There was everything from glass insulators to old mason jars to grandmas favorite glass patterned cake stands and lamps.  There was also a really neat, vintage Rival Juice-O-Matic from 1950-something that I found on a bottom shelf for $10.  There was also a number of old fashioned irons that would be heated on a stove and used to iron clothes without electricity.  Both my mother and I were shocked by how heavy they were!!  Laundry back in the day was no easy task if what you had to look forward to was a washboard and then one of those irons!!

After the jump, check out the photos of what we brought home and other fun inspiration pieces that I couldn’t buy today but will look for next time!

Here’s a Sample of What We Saw Today!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And Here’s a Picture of Our “Less than $30 Worth of Loot”

Today’s Take: a vintage milk can: $10, a washboard: $5, 2 lanterns: $6, a sterling silver wine carafe: $5 and a wire mini birdcage: $1!

I’ve had such a good time finding these old, vintage-inspired items!  I’ve also been shocked at how easy it’s been to find things like this milk can, washboard and really my typewriter too. I thought these items would be next to impossible to find. But in less than 3 minutes of telling my mom this morning that I really wanted milk cans and washboards at the flea market, we found them.  One man’s trash really is another man’s treasure!

Next on the agenda is a vintage telephone from 1930-something!  I can’t wait!

What’s been the most difficult item for you to find on an antique search?  Did you find it?  If so where and oh my goodness, post pictures and tell me the story!